Pages (7):    1 3 4 5 6 7   
jimbow8   07-27-2004, 06:53 PM
ripper_bd Wrote:Hi, I'm a bit of a newbie at this so bear with me! I totally agree, Matheson is an amazing author. I first read this about 4 years ago and I think I've re-read it 5 times since, its gotta be the best alternative vampire novel ever written... 'cept the Keep. This is gonna sound weird but which movie version of I AM LEGEND did you prefer? Vincent Price or Charlton Heston? I'm a huge Vincent Price fan so you can gues where my vote goes!
Ahhh....We've had this discussion before. Wink

I think the Vincent Price is much truer to the original novel, but I like the atmosphere of the Heston movie better. I don't know if I like either one 'better' than the other; they both have their goods and bads.

The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. ... The piecing together of dissociated knowledge will open up such terrifying vistas of reality, and of our frightful position therein, that we shall either go mad from the revelation or flee from the light into the peace and safety of a new dark age.
~ Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Scott Miller   07-28-2004, 06:15 PM
While I've only read the first three chapters, Arslan by M.J. Engh already qualifies as a terrifying reading experience. A thoroughly heinous villian combined with distinctly plausibile scenario are giving me a severe case of cramps. I am almost afraid to push forward.
This post was last modified: 07-28-2004, 06:16 PM by Scott Miller.

Scott

Jesus died for your sins, get your money's worth. Chad Daniels
ripper_bd   07-30-2004, 05:56 AM
The one book that always gives me the creeps is 'Vamphyrric' by Simon Clark, I tend to read horror/thriller stuff at night for the atmosphere but even when reading this in broad daylight it still make me shiver...
Especially the lift scene in the basement of the hotel.
I urge everyone to read this book! :p
-BD