Pages (4):    1 2 3 4
Bluesman Mike Lindner   12-29-2004, 12:37 PM
Ken Valentine Wrote:Speaking for myself, NONE. I'm an axe murderer by profession, guns are merely a hobby.

Ken V.

With you all the way on this issue, Ken. Guns are cool indeed, but impersonal. An axe provides...the personal touch...
Biggles   12-29-2004, 03:48 PM
Ken Valentine Wrote:So, what's this going to become now? An I'm whackier than you are thread?!

I'll see your whackiness and raise you.

I also reload ammunition and cast my own bullets.

I reload and cast bullets for 9 different handgun cartridges, as well as 44 caliber balls for my Cap-and-Ball pistols.

I reload 7 rifle cartridges and cast bullets for all but two of them.

I also reload 12 gage shotgun shells and cast my own slugs for the slug rounds I shoot.

For those who are unaware of the significance of this, it costs more than $300 dollars for a thousand rounds of 45 acp, but I can cast and reload 1,000 rounds for about $38 dollars. Casting 1,000 bullets, lubing and sizing them takes about 3 hours. Reloading them into 1,000 rounds of ammunition takes another 3 hours. Which makes my labor worth about $50 dollars an hour. And I get very accurate ammunition.

Ken V.

Sorry, Ken, but I don't consider reloading at all whacky. It's those of us who don't take the time to reload, and therefore spend way more for ammo, who are the crazy ones.

http://www.northernindianacriminaldefense.com

"I don't always carry a pistol, but when I do, I prefer an East German Makarov"
Ken Valentine   12-30-2004, 01:54 AM
Biggles Wrote:Sorry, Ken, but I don't consider reloading at all whacky. It's those of us who don't take the time to reload, and therefore spend way more for ammo, who are the crazy ones.

That's a good point.

Hmmmm . . . what do you do with your brass? Big Grin

Ken - the brass hound - V.
Ken Valentine   12-30-2004, 01:58 AM