Lake   01-06-2006, 07:36 PM
Hey Folks, newbie here. I've been a RJ fan for a couple years starting with the Tomb but never got around to joining the board until now. Since i've finished the latest RJ book, i've decided it's high time to complete the adversary cycle. I've finished The Keep, and The Touch and am just started Reprisal. I was curious if anyone has found the thought of a phone continuously ringing somewhat disturbing? When i first read it, i couldn't get it out of my mind. It's such a simple idea but very unusual. Anyway, sorry if this topic has been brought up before.
Scott Miller   01-06-2006, 08:18 PM
Lake Wrote:Hey Folks, newbie here. I've been a RJ fan for a couple years starting with the Tomb but never got around to joining the board until now. Since i've finished the latest RJ book, i've decided it's high time to complete the adversary cycle. I've finished The Keep, and The Touch and am just started Reprisal. I was curious if anyone has found the thought of a phone continuously ringing somewhat disturbing? When i first read it, i couldn't get it out of my mind. It's such a simple idea but very unusual. Anyway, sorry if this topic has been brought up before.

You bet I did. Part of FPW's genius is that he takes some mundane aspect of modern living and turns into something sinister, and if you think the phone ringing is bad, wait til you find out why.

Wlecome to the board, btw.

Scott

Jesus died for your sins, get your money's worth. Chad Daniels
Lisa   01-06-2006, 08:41 PM
Welcome to the board. I just reread Reborn and Reprisal, and YES the phone ring was very creepy. I haven't read the books since they were first published and I'm surprised I didn't remember that part. The main part that stuck in my head from the first read was the baby Rasalom talking, um, precociously.

Lisa
KRW   01-06-2006, 08:50 PM