RepairmanJack.com Forums
Abe...Nu? - Printable Version

+- RepairmanJack.com Forums (https://repairmanjack.com/forum)
+-- Forum: F. Paul Wilson Related (https://repairmanjack.com/forum/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: F. Paul Wilson Main Forum (https://repairmanjack.com/forum/forum-3.html)
+--- Thread: Abe...Nu? (/thread-161.html)

Pages: 1 2

Abe...Nu? - XiaoYu - 06-08-2004

Hello all!

I'm a newb here, so I'm not sure if Abe's language has been discussed before or not. But I've been dying to know more about his style of talking. What exactly does "Nu" mean? I've been trying to figure out ever since I started reading Jack, and even now, after Midnight Mass, I'm still floundering. I take it to mean a combo of 'what, where, huh, duh...'? Also, the funny grammar, and usage of 'should'...I should think these are all Yiddishms? Wink

Abe...Nu? - Noelie - 06-09-2004

According to one of my Yiddish speaking friends, Nu? means So?

I don't know how to explain the use of the word "should". A lot of Jewish people, especially from the northeast, use "should" a particular way - and I've always figured it must have something to do with speaking Yiddish, but I'm not positive. I've mostly heard older people speak that way, so that would seem to indicate that it does have something to do with Yiddish, but that's just a supposition.

I should be answering this post, why? Big Grin

Abe...Nu? - fpw - 06-09-2004

XiaoYu Wrote:should think these are all Yiddishms? Wink

What Noelie said. And it's known as Yiddishkeit or, more recently, Hebonics. I have friends who can turn it on and off, and I get most of it from them. A lot of it is rhythm and intonation that's hard to get across in print, but listen to Judd Hirsch in Independence Day and you'll have a clue.

Ages ago I copied the following from somewhere on the Internet:

Here are some descriptions of the characteristics of the language,
and samples of phrases in standard English and Hebonics ...